Tennis player smashes racket against umpire’s chair
Czech tennis player Karolina Pliskova was incensed with a horrendous call during her second-round match with Maria Sakkari at the Italian Open on Wednesday.
The scene sparked when both the linesperson and umpire couldn’t spot Pliskova’s ball mark in the clay with the deciding set tied at 5-5. The ball, which was clearly in, was ruled out. The crucial missed call led to Pliskova’s upset defeat.
This easy overhead was somehow ruled out.
After the match, Pliskova approached the umpire’s chair and faked a handshake before unloading on the chair with her racket.